Nashville IndyCar Event: When to Watch, Who’s Participating, and More Details

by admin

The upcoming weekend’s IndyCar event in Nashville consists of a race on a 2.1-mile temporary street course, featuring 80 laps and covering a distance of 168 miles.

In the current season’s 12 IndyCar Series races, we have witnessed six distinct winners: Marcus Ericsson (St. Petersburg), Josef Newgarden (Texas Motor Speedway, Indianapolis 500, and Iowa Speedway), Kyle Kirkwood (Long Beach), Scott McLaughlin (Barber F1 Flows Park), Alex Palou (Indianapolis Road Course, Detroit, Road America, and Mid-Ohio), and Christian Lundgaard (Toronto).

This event marks the third IndyCar competition on Nashville’s urban circuit. Previous victors on this track include Marcus Ericsson and Scott Dixon, both from Chip Ganassi Racing. Dixon is poised to match Tony Kanaan’s IndyCar record streak by making his 318th consecutive start.

The Nashville IndyCar race details are as follows:

Dates: Friday, August 4 – Sunday, August 6

Commencement Time: 11:30am CDT/12:30pm ET

Course: Temporary 2.1-mile street course with 11 turns

Race Length: 80 laps or 168 miles

Firestone has provided six primary and four alternate tire sets for use throughout the event. An additional set of primary tires will be given to teams that include a rookie driver. It’s mandatory for teams to use one set of primary and one new (sticker) alternate tire pair for at least two laps in the race.

Push-to-pass Parameters: 150 seconds total time, with each activation capped at 15 seconds.

Colton Herta holds the record for the fastest qualifying lap, achieving a time of 1m13.6835s and speed of 102.601mph in 2021.

Coverage of the race on NBC will begin on Sunday at 12:00pm ET. The team includes Leigh Diffey as the announcer, with Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe serving as analysts. Reporting from the pit are Dave Burns, Kevin Lee, and Dillon Welch.

Live streams of all IndyCar practice sessions, qualifications, and races will be available on Peacock, NBC’s live streaming platform.

Radio broadcasts of all IndyCar Series and Indy NXT practices and qualifying sessions are available on network affiliates, SiriusXM 160,, and the INDYCAR App. The radio team consists of anchor Mark Jaynes and driver analyst Davey Hamilton.

Below is the entry list for the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix at Nashville:

Nº Entrant / Driver | Car | Engine

2 Team Penske Josef Newgarden | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
3 Team Penske Scott McLaughlin | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
5 Arrow McLaren Patricio O’Ward | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
6 Arrow McLaren Felix Rosenqvist | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
06 Meyer Shank Racing Hélio Castroneves | Dallara DW12 | Honda
7 Arrow McLaren Alexander Rossi | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
8 Chip Ganassi Racing Marcus Ericsson | Dallara DW12 | Honda
9 Chip Ganassi Racing Scott Dixon | Dallara DW12 | Honda
10 Chip Ganassi Racing Alex Palou | Dallara DW12 | Honda
11 Chip Ganassi Racing Marcus Armstrong | Dallara DW12 | Honda
12 Team Penske Will Power | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
14 A.J. Foyt Enterprises Santino Ferrucci | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Graham Rahal | Dallara DW12 | Honda
18 Dale Coyne Racing with HMD David Malukas | Dallara DW12 | Honda
20 Ed Carpenter Racing Ryan Hunter-Reay | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
21 Ed Carpenter Racing Rinus van Kalmthout | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
26 Andretti Autosport with Curb-Agajanian Colton Herta | Dallara DW12 | Honda
27 Andretti Autosport Kyle Kirkwood | Dallara DW12 | Honda
28 Andretti Autosport Romain Grosjean | Dallara DW12 | Honda
29 Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport Devlin Defrancesco | Dallara DW12 | Honda
30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Jack Harvey | Dallara DW12 | Honda
45 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Christian Lundgaard | Dallara DW12 | Honda
51 Dale Coyne Racing with RWR Sting Ray Robb | Dallara DW12 | Honda
55 A.J. Foyt Enterprises Benjamin Pedersen | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
60 Meyer Shank Racing Linus Lundqvist | Dallara DW12 | Honda
77 Juncos Hollinger Racing Callum Ilott | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet
78 Juncos Hollinger Racing Agustín Canapino | Dallara DW12 | Chevrolet

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Nashville IndyCar Race

When is the IndyCar race at Nashville taking place?

The race will occur from Friday, August 4 to Sunday, August 6, with the main race starting at 11:30am CDT/12:30pm ET on the final day.

Who are some of the drivers participating in the Nashville IndyCar race?

Some of the participating drivers include Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin, Patricio O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist, Hélio Castroneves, Alexander Rossi, Marcus Ericsson, Scott Dixon, Alex Palou, and Will Power, among others.

How can I watch the IndyCar race at Nashville on TV?

The race will be broadcasted on NBC, with the coverage starting on Sunday at 12:00pm ET. Alternatively, live streams will be available on Peacock, NBC’s live streaming platform.

What is the race distance for the Nashville IndyCar race?

The race comprises 80 laps around a 2.1-mile temporary street course, totaling to a distance of 168 miles.

What is the push-to-pass parameter for the Nashville IndyCar race?

The push-to-pass parameter allows for 150 seconds of total time, with a maximum of 15 seconds per activation.

Who holds the qualifying lap record for the Nashville IndyCar race?

Colton Herta holds the record for the fastest qualifying lap, with a time of 1m13.6835s and a speed of 102.601mph set in 2021.

More about Nashville IndyCar Race

You may also like


IndyCarLover69 August 6, 2023 - 4:02 am

anyone else gonna watch this live on Peacock? wish I could be there in person but the couch will have to do.

TracksideTim August 6, 2023 - 6:32 am

Nashville’s 2.1 mile course is a beast. Can’t wait to see how drivers handle it this weekend.

RaceFan84 August 6, 2023 - 7:06 am

whoa! can’t believe Dixon’s on the verge of tying Kanaan’s record. this is gonna be epic!

PitLanePete August 6, 2023 - 10:39 am

Herta’s lap record from last year was impressive, wonder if anyone can break it this time? fingers crossed!

RacingDude101 August 6, 2023 - 4:26 pm

really pumped for this race! go Team Penske, let’s see some magic!

CheckeredFlagFan August 6, 2023 - 9:07 pm

so many rookies on the grid. really excited to see what they can bring to the race.

OpenWheelQueen August 6, 2023 - 11:15 pm

Is it just me or is this season one of the most competitive ever? Six different winners in 12 races, man that’s some tight racing.


Leave a Comment